Research & Innovation

Past Recipients

2015 Grant Recipients

Major Grants

IMG IsraelsDr. Sara Israels (Co-Applicant Dr. Ping Sun)

“Comparison of light transmission aggregometry and multiple electrode aggregometry for the evaluation of platelet function in patients with mucocutaneous bleeding”


IMG LeslieDr. William Leslie (Co-Applicants Drs. Claudio Rigatto & Laurel Thorlacius)

Utility of the FRAX® tool in predicting the risk of fracture in patients with chronic kidney disease”



IMG KlonischDr. Thomas Klonisch (Co-Applicants Drs. Marshall Pitz & Marc DelBigio)

“Establish personalized subtype and drug resistance signatures of glioblastoma”


IMG HoDr. Emmanuel Ho (Co-Applicant Dr. Geoffrey Tranmer)

“Development of a microfluidic device for the rapid detection of antibiotic-resistant bacteria”


IMG TurgeonDr. Thomas Turgeon (Co-Applicant Trevor Gascoyne)

“Model-based re-analysis to salvage failed RSA examinations in total shoulder arthroplasty patients”





DSM would like to thank all the applicants who submitted their proposals in the 2015 competition. We look forward to the exciting and innovative proposals to come in our next competition.


2012 Grant Recipients

The 2012/2013 fiscal year marked DSM’s fifth annual Grant Competition. This year, three operating grants were awarded to individuals committed to innovation and research excellence.

  • Dr. Abdi Sokoro – Development and Validation of Serum-Based Tandem Mass Spectrometry Method for Assessment of Intestinal Permeability
  • Dr. Lorne Sargeant – Enhancement of Mass Spectrometry Capabilities for Clinical Applications
  • Dr. Elizabeth (Beth) Spriggs – Use of Targeted Next-Generation Sequencing in Patient Care: A Pilot Study